Challenge Complete

IMG_3067

This past weekend I walked my 100th mile of the summer at sunrise on a beach that has been a favorite of my family for generations. My medal arrived by mail a couple of weeks ago but I didn’t open it until I met my mileage that morning on the beach. I wanted to celebrate walking 100 miles in the same way I celebrate my bigger, harder races because the medal represents more than just walking to me. I wasn’t expecting an injury this past year and ignored it for months until I couldn’t anymore. I embraced the doctor’s appointments and the physical therapy that will continue for the next few months as an opportunity to grow and accept the things in life that I can’t control. I will be stronger and wiser after tackling this challenge and will appreciate running and racing even more when it’s time to enjoy them again. I still made time to get out and move even though it was slower than usual. Summer is a busy time with the kids home but I made time for myself and chipped away at my goal. It feels good. I am looking back at a summer that could’ve been filled with struggle and frustration and am happy and feel accomplished. Now it’s time to look ahead to the school year and find balance in the everyday business we all juggle. I hope you find time to celebrate and reward yourself for your hard work and accomplishments, no matter how small.

2 thoughts on “Challenge Complete

Leave a Reply

