We Are The Hunters AND The Foxes

Yes, the title of this post is a nod to Taylor Swift. Why, you ask? She was just here on tour last week and her show is now officially etched in history as my daughter’s first concert. It’s kind of unbelievable that I have a child old enough to listen to a pop star let alone attend her concert. Just getting the tickets was a whole production compared to any show I ever went to as a kid. I still remember waiting in line at the Ticketmaster counter at the record store for tickets. Not anymore. This time around I had to preregister as a fan club member to get a special code for early access to tickets. The process was actually pretty smooth and prevented scalpers from snatching all the tickets up. I should’ve know then, though, that this was not going to be an ordinary production. Oh no. This concert was on a whole other level compared to any show I’ve ever attended. I’ll show you in a minute.

Since the tickets were kind of a big deal, I decided to make a day of it with my daughter. My friend Sara and her family joined us for the day. She discovered a cool urban scavenger hunt that can be done any time on a smartphone. It took us all around the city. We traveled a little over 3-miles and the clues were challenging and fun. Pretty cool!

We finished the scavenger hunt with just enough time to get to the stadium with all 59,994 other Swifties. I wish I could describe my daughter’s face when we walked into the stadium. She was so appreciative and excited. I was thrilled (and a little choked up) to share the experience with her. It was a magical day that I know she won’t forget. Seriously, it was amazing. Here are the first few moments:

Taylor Swift put on a great show!

Leave a Reply

