Okay, One Quick Story

 
This is Takeno. He and I met after my jog while we were both wandering the gardens of the Imperial Palace this morning. I had read that many Japanese people will strike up a conversation to practice their English. That’s just what Takeno did but it wasn’t just conversational bits. He recited the Gettysburg Address as well as JFK’s Inaguation Speech from 1961 (the Ask Not speech) in their entirety. Perfectly. He told me about his career (he just retired as a math professor at the University of Tokyo) and his family. I’m glad he asked me to talk. Thanks Tokyo!

Leave a Reply

