Girls Weekend!

I’m feeling rested and refilled after a weekend of fun with my best girlfriends. Time with great people is invaluable to me. I figured out years ago that taking time for myself isn’t selfish or detrimental to my family but, in fact, just the opposite. As wives and mothers we put unrealistic pressure on ourselves to be everything to everyone while running on empty ourselves. Not only is this unnecessary, but I think this behavior leads many of us to resent our kids or loved ones when we’re actually the ones depriving ourselves. My family has never made me feel bad for taking time out and what’s more, it’s good for them to see me making myself a priority. How are they supposed to respect me and my role when I don’t do it? Not only that, but it’s incredibly healthy for my kids to spend concentrated time with their daddy. We are different people and while we’re on the same parenting page, we approach things differently and it’s good for our kids to experience both of our styles. I always arrive home with a husband who has a renewed appreciation for the work I do for our family as well.

It’s a win all around.

I highly recommend the snowshoeing and wine tasting tour through Blue Sky Outfitters in Leavenworth. Now it’s time to focus on the week and get ready for March.

Leave a Reply

