Fruehschoppen

Location: Juanita Beach Park
Distance: 3.1 miles
Playlist: Kanye West

IMG_4741

After quite a few solo runs I invited my running buddy Ansgar to join me this morning. Although he and his family live right across the street, we don’t see each other too often. It’s always fun to catch up with him. We can talk about pretty much anything and it feels like no time has passed. The older I get, the more I appreciate that in my friends.

IMG_4742-0

This past year Ansgar dodged a pretty serious bullet with his health. Now that he’s on the other side of it, his outlook and priorities have completely changed. He told me that he doesn’t worry about his job anymore and brushes off the obnoxious drivers who used to make him crazy. His focus is on enjoying his life. His bucket list is a much bigger priority now. Doing the things he wants to do with the people he wants to be around is his main focus. That sounds pretty good to me.

After our run we hit Hectors in Kirkland and split a plate of steak and eggs. Ansgar is the only person I know who can run like a beast and immediately (and comfortably) drink a couple pints. I would totally vomit. He taught me that “fruehschoppen” is the German word for a beer in the morning.

IMG_4744-0

Fruehschoppen complete. Now it’s time to cheer on the home team. Go Hawks!!!

Leave a Reply

