Shredding The Gnar

We had a really fun day skiing and snowboarding with my friend Matt and his family.

IMG_4286

Matt is a pretty amazing guy though he would hate for me to say it. First, he is an Iraq War veteran and a Seattle firefighter of 13 years. Second, he and his wife Shannon are two of the funniest people I know. Finally, I should mention that Matt came to the mountains today with a goal:

http://www.king5.com/story/news/local/seattle/2014/10/08/seattle-firefighter-matt-runte-prosthetic-brace/16949013/

During Matt’s past year of recovery, rehab, and brace fittings I never once saw him frustrated or down about his accident. He never felt sorry for himself or let his injury slow him down. I’m happy to know him and his family and I’m so glad I got to be there to see him accomplish his goal.

I do have to say, however, that Matt has horrible taste in blog post titles. Thanks for reading anyway.

Leave a Reply

