My Eating A-Game

**I am not a nutritionist or a doctor. These tips are from my own experience and are not recommended for everyone.**

There are always signs that I am doing things right. One, is finding my exercise gear lying around:

Line drying my workout clothes.

Line drying my workout clothes.

A second is conscious eating. I have joined Weight Watchers a number of times and have learned life-changing habits from the meetings. When I am on my eating A-game, my plate is colorful and at least half veggies or fruit. I don’t do anything else (phone calls, emails, TV, etc.) during a meal except concentrate on my food and when I feel full. One tip I learned years ago is that one’s body will naturally take a deep breath when it’s full. After becoming aware of this, I realized I do it all the time and it is more often sooner in the meal than I expect.

Over the summer I did a 30-Day Isagenix cleanse. The plan consists of two protein shakes a day and a low-glycemic meal for dinner. There are fasting days as well that include of ton of water and a couple small snacks. That was hard. My motivation for the cleanse was to see if I could give up coffee, alcohol, and soda for a whole month. I ended up losing about 16-pounds and didn’t really miss any of those things. It was a great reset for my body. I started up with the shakes again this week to clean my system of all the holiday eating. The shakes hold me over really well and I can even run my miles without feeling weak or “bonking”. The Isagenix plan can be pretty expensive but I was lucky enough to get all the products at a hefty discount through a friend.

I have my go-to healthy snacks too. Here are my favorites:

  1. Trader Joe’s Cilantro and Chive Yogurt Dip – I love this stuff. It is a staple in my fridge. I use it as a dip, a substitute for sour cream, to replace mayo on my sandwiches, and as a base for chicken salad. So yummy and versatile.
  1. Laughing Cow Light Cheese Wedges – I don’t think I could ever give up cheese. This stuff is great as a straight up snack but also works well as a substitute for cream cheese.
  1. Nut Thins – Crackers are such a temptation for me but they are high in carbs and calories. These guys are crunchy, tasty, and the serving size is really satisfying. They also have a ton of protein so they stick with me.
  1. The Veggie Tray – When my kids were younger, I was always looking for ways to get them to eat more vegetables. I read somewhere that putting out a tray of veggies before dinner is a sure way to get them to chow down. It totally works and not just for them but for me too. Every time I pass by the platter, I grab a few. It’s a great habit.
  1. Pomegranates – These little beauties are one of my favorite signs of Fall and Winter. I know many people who don’t eat them because they’re a pain to deseed but that’s part of their appeal to me. I stole my friend Laura’s habit of slowly eating them in the evenings. You know, that dangerous time when your day finally slows down and you could easily snack into oblivion? Try sitting and eating your way through one of these instead. They are full of antioxidants, water, and fiber. There is also a very easy way to deseed them: http://www.saveur.com/article/Video/VIDEO-How-to-De-seed-a-Pomegranate
  1. Tea – I must have been an old British lady in a past life because I could drink tea all day every day. My absolute favorite flavor is Good Earth’s Sweet and Spicy. It’s almost good enough to call a dessert. Almost. I also keep Bigelow’s Pumpkin Spice, and Trader Joe’s Harvest Blend and Candy Cane Green Tea well-stocked in my pantry. Tea is not only delicious but a really good way to fill your belly and help you meet your 8-glasses of water a day.

I am always looking for new healthy snacks. Please leave any good tips! Thanks.

2 thoughts on “My Eating A-Game

Leave a Reply

